Thursday, May 13, 2010

The Agatha Awards 2009

The Agatha Awards were given for best traditional mysteries on May 1, 2010 at the annual Malice Domestic convention. The Agatha Awards are named for mystery writer Agatha Christie.

According to the Malice Domestic website:

The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery." That is to say, books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie as well as others. For our purposes, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that:

•contain no explicit sex
•contain no excessive gore or gratuitous violence

The Best Novel winner was A Brutal Telling by Louise Penny

Nominees for Best Novel:
Swan for the Money by Donna Andrews
Bookplate Special by Lorna Barrett
Royal Flush by Rhys Bowen
Air Time by Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Best First Novel was The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Nominees for Best First Novel:

For Better For Murder by Lisa Bork
Posed for Murder by Meredith Cole
The Cold Light of Mourning by Elizabeth Duncan
In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff

The winner for Best Non-fiction was Dame Agatha’s Shorts by Elena Santangelo

Duchess of Death by Richard Hack
Talking About Detective Fiction by P.D. James
Blood on the Stage by 1925-1950 by Amnon Kabatchnik
The Talented Miss Highsmith by Joan Schenkar

The Best Short Story was given to “On the House” by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“Femme Sole” by Dana Cameron, Boston Noir
“Handbaskets, Drawers and a Killer Cold” by Kaye George
“The Worst Noel” by Barb Goffman, The Gift of Murder
“Death Will Trim Your Tree” by Elizabeth Zelvin, The Gift of Murder

The award for Best Children's/Young Adult went to The Hanging Hill by Chris Grabenstein

The Morgue and Me by John C. Ford
The Case of the Poisoned Pig by Lewis B. Montgomery
The Other Side of Blue by Valerie O. Patterson
The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline by Nancy Springer

No comments:

Post a Comment